Blog Post #3

Analysis

Audience: Librarians

  • generally female
  • range of ages generally middle aged
  • care about books and history
  • desire to learn new things
  • generally enjoy a younger audience
  • usually work with kids
  • love of sharing knowledge
  • very helpful

Genre: Comic

  • multiple frames
  • usually tells a story
  • can be historical or entertainment
  • many contain humor
  • some play on your emotions
  • usually very animated characters
  • large range of styles for images

Justification Statement

When I started this project I was a little bit unsure as to what I should do for a comic. I knew that librarians and museums could work well together considering that librarians love generally love history. The only thing I wasn’t sure about was how to depict that. In the end I decided to make a couple frames that struck at the pathos side of my audience. I started out by incorporating the idea that if we are not careful, soon all of our history will be transferred onto our electronics. It is very possible that museums could become a 2D interface or virtual reality. I know personally, when I read books I love having the physical copy in my hands to turn the pages. So as a result, things like kindles and such repel me when it comes to reading. In my mind I imagined that librarians would have a similar feeling. As I am sure they would hate to see all books go straight to digital copies, I tried to play on the idea of losing our physical history the same way.

The second point that I tried to bring up through the use of pathos was the idea that children in the near future wouldn’t have the same amazing experiences that we had. I am sure many people, librarians included, had experiences as kids running around a museum and being awed at what they saw there. By stating our future children may not have this chance I was hoping to play on the emotions they had toward their own experiences and the desire to have others experience that as well. Knowing that many librarians love kids and enjoy the development and spread of knowledge I was hoping this would be a good selling point.

The last attempt I used was the idea of donating to your local museum. This was as strong of a point that I was trying to convey but was hoping it would still help the same. Many people have pride in the area they live and would hate to see their personal city history deplete and fade away. By stating that their donations could help their local museum they are helping not only continue the spread of knowledge but also bettering their community and preserving their history.

Leave a comment